What is Olympiad Exam?

Olympiads exams are conducted for students for classes 1 to 12 so they can compete with others of a similar educational level. It helps students in recognizing their potential and abilities.

Olympiad exams aid in determining a child’s aptitude and true potential, which may enable him to perform better in today’s highly competitive world. They encourage students to understand concepts more thoroughly and in-depthly in order to develop their critical thinking, analytical, and problem-solving abilities.

Six SOF Olympiad examinations are held every year in India:

  1. National Science Olympiad (NSO)
  2. International Mathematics Olympiad (IMO)
  3. International English Olympiad (IEO)
  4. National Cyber Olympiad (NCO)
  5. International General Knowledge Olympiad (IGKO)
  6. International Social Studies Olympiad (ISSO)

National Science Olympiad (NSO): 

NSO, or the National Science Olympiad, is one of the top competitions held annually for students in class 1 to 12. The Science Olympiad Foundation (SOF) organizes it with the objective of identifying and developing potential scientists, technologists, and IT specialists at the high school level. On the basis of 1st Level marks, NSO participants are ranked. After passing the first level of the exam, students can assess their academic progress at 4 distinct levels: within the school, at city level, at state level and above all at International level.

International Mathematics Olympiad (IMO):

The International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO) is a national exam designed for students in classes 6 to 12 from all around India. The exam is conducted every year. Once they are familiar with all the subject’s topics and solutions to any challenges, students can start preparing for the IMO exam. As the student takes this exam, they will be familiar with the subject’s concepts and fundamentals as well as the exam’s competitive environment along with the course outline. 

It is advised to practice as many previous years’ question papers as you can and to keep up with the changes that the IMO exam’s syllabus undergoes each year.

International English Olympiad (IEO)

The Science Olympiad Foundation (SOF) holds the International English Olympiad for students in Classes 1 through 12. The subjects of English grammar, vocabulary, and understanding are assessed in this Olympiad. The SOF IEO is an exam for English language proficiency that measures a student’s knowledge of the language’s grammar, vocabulary, and other language-related concepts. Students who take part in the IEO exam receive feedback on their language proficiency and are also given the chance to evaluate where they stand among their peers.

National Cyber Olympiad (NCO)

Science Olympiad Foundation (SOF) conducts the National Cyber Olympiad (NCO) (SOF) twice a year. Students in classes 1 to 10 take a single level of the test. They can learn about and enhance their computer skills with the help of this exam. Students will be able to assess themselves on four levels as a part of the test: school, city, zone, and internationally. Each student who participates in the NCO exam receives a report on their performance. The students’ performances are carefully checked. Through this approach, students can identify their strengths and weaknesses.

International General Knowledge Olympiad (IGKO)

The International General Knowledge Olympiad (IGKO) is held annually by the Science Olympiad Foundation (SOF). From class 1 to 10, students take the IGKO Olympiad exam. It aims to inspire students to broaden their knowledge and develop a greater interest in current events. For better performance, students who are competing in the IGKO Olympiad should try to solve previous year’s papers and become familiar with the IGKO Olympiad Syllabus and along with the course outline.

International Social Studies Olympiad (ISSO)

The International Social Studies Olympiad (ISSO), an examination of historical, geographic, and civic knowledge, is held annually at the national and international levels. It is based on the CBSE/ICSE and State Boards syllabus. The Olympiad examines the students’ decision-making, creative thinking, and analytical skills in addition to their academic proficiency.

ISSO is a one-level test for class 1 to 10.


India hosts a number of Olympiad exams every year. Their main goal is to improve the student performances who are taking part in these Olympiad examinations. Olympiad examinations give students the opportunity to practice and polish their in terms of logic, skills, aptitude and reasoning because they are heavily weighted in the exam format. The Olympiad exams give a thorough evaluation of a particular student’s abilities, including both their strengths and weaknesses. Students can reach their full potential while also focusing on their areas of weakness. These Olympiad exams spark the interest of the participating students in global events and affairs as well as academic matters. It guarantees students’ holistic and all-around growth while they are in school and also gives the students a chance to gain insight into the educational curriculum as well as how the national and worldwide competitive exam function. It’s one of the key advantages of Olympiad exams. As a result, students can undertake more challenging courses of study with greater confidence.


You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Arundeep says:

    When is d 1st level exams taken for class 2 n 3

  1. September 5, 2022

    […] for IEO, IMO and NSO for classes 3 to 8 so that students can compete and perform better in the SOF Olympiad exams with an aim to score high marks. It helps in students’ knowledge acquisition outside of the […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *